Who We Are


Mayor 2018


The Mayor for the municipal year 2018/2019 is Cllr Piers Brown

Following the Annual Meeting of the Council 1st May 2018, Councillor Piers Brown was elected as Mayor of Shaftesbury for the municipal year 2018/19.

Councillor Lester Taylor was elected Deputy Mayor at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 1st May 2018.


Shaftesbury West Ward

Andy Perkins
Anthony Austin
Jeanne Loader
John Lewer
Philip Proctor
Piers Brown

Shaftesbury East Ward

George Hall
Lauren Todd
Lester Taylor
Luke Kirton
Mark Jackson
Tim Cook

Please see the meetings page for a list of committees and members on those committees


Ward Profiles

Shaftesbury Parish Council consists of two Wards:  Shaftesbury East and Shaftesbury West

Shaftesbury East Ward Profile

Shaftesbury West Ward Profile

Profiles of all Wards within North Dorset can be found at: https://www.dorsetforyou.com/communityprofiles/north


The Town Council currently employs eight permanent staff who are all based in Shaftesbury. The staff are divided into two departments – office and grounds. The office staff are based in the Town Hall in Shaftesbury and consist of a Town Clerk and three full time members of staff. The grounds team are based at Wincombe Business Park.

Office staff

Town Clerk – Claire Commons PSLCC (CiLCA) (CertHE Community Governance)
Business Manager – Brie Logan
Finance and Services Officer – Tracy Moxham (ILCA)
Office Administrator – Zoe Moxham (ILCA)

Grounds staff

Head Groundsman – Andy Dodd
Groundsman – Andrew Flitcroft
Groundsman – Michael Wakely
Groundsman – Terry Bugler

County Councillor

Councillor Derek Beer 

District Councillors

Councillors Derek Beer, Simon Pritchard, Jo Francis and Gary Jefferson