

# SHAFTESBURY TOWN COUNCIL

# Full Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting – Mayor Making Ceremony held in the Council Chamber, High Street, Shaftesbury Dorset SP7 8LY on Tuesday 17<sup>th</sup> May 2016, commencing at 7.00pm.

# **Members Present:**

Councillor R Tippins (Chair) Councillor Austin, Councillor Francis Councillor K Tippins Councillor Proctor (Vice-Chair) Councillor Brown Councillor Taylor Councillor Todd

# **Officers Present:**

Stephen Holley, Town Clerk Claire Commons, Committee Services Officer

District Councillor Jefferson 14 members of the public

#### **MINUTES**

# **Public Participation**

Members of the public were invited to make representations to the Council on any matters relating to the work of the Council or to raise any issues of concern. The following matters were raised;

• Matters in relation to political and business interests of the Mayor Elect

Councillor R Tippins gave a retiring address as Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Councillors retired to the Mayor's Parlour. The meeting convened at 7:30pm.

# FC01 Election of Chairman and Town Mayor

Councillor Proctor formally withdrew as candidate for the position of Mayor.

It was **RESOLVED** that Councillor Richard Tippins serve as Chairman and Town Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

# FC02 Declaration of Acceptance of Office

Having signed his statutory declaration of acceptance of office, Councillor Richard Tippins took the chair.

#### FC03 Mayoral Address

The Mayor announced that his intention for the Council in the coming year would be to continue to build the relationship with North Dorset District Council.

#### FC04 Election of Vice-Chairman and Deputy Mayor

It was **RESOLVED** that Councillor Jo Francis serve as Vice Chair and Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

7:40pm. At this point in the proceedings, the meeting was adjourned to the 31<sup>st</sup> May 2016 and all assembled guests were invited for refreshments in the Mayor's Parlour.

Signed

Date